Appointment of Interim Provost, Search Committee

To the Dartmouth community,

I am pleased to inform you that Professor David Kotz '86 will serve as interim provost, beginning at the end of fall term, after Carolyn Dever steps down from the role and returns to research and teaching.

The Champion International Professor in the Department of Computer Science, Dave is an eminent scholar and teacher. His research leadership and his six years as associate dean of the faculty for the sciences make him the ideal choice for the interim post.

I have asked Professor Deborah Nichols to lead the search committee for the permanent provost position. She will work with Associate Professor Margaret Ackerman, Tuck student Eunice Bii, Professor Colin Calloway, Professor Paul Christesen, Vice Provost Lee Coffin, Professor Deborah Hogan, Associate Dean Punam Keller, Professor James LaBelle, undergraduate Jay Raju '18, and Chief Financial Officer Michael Wagner. A member of the board of trustees will be added to the committee.

The committee will begin work this week, and will work with a search firm that will soon be selected. The committee will send me recommendations in early spring.

Read more about Dave's appointment in this Dartmouth News story


Phil Hanlon '77