Standing with Ukraine

A message from the Dartmouth Senior Leadership Group on Russia's invasion of Ukraine.

To the Dartmouth community,

We are horrified by the brazen aggression of the Russian military invasion of Ukraine. As senior leaders at Dartmouth, we stand as one in support of all those individuals around the world who are affected by this atrocity, and especially our own students, faculty, staff, and alumni who are part of the Ukrainian community. We are also troubled by the unfolding refugee crisis and emerging reports of people of color being prevented from crossing the Ukrainian border to safety.

We hope that the global condemnation of this unprovoked assault and its devastating effects reflects rising support for basic human rights, respect for international law, and the principles of freedom and understanding valued by academic institutions such as Dartmouth.

As leaders, we recognize there are tragedies happening daily. While it would be impossible to respond to each one, we hope this message makes clear our opposition to all senseless acts of violence whenever they occur. They are antithetical to our institutional values.

Our hearts go out to the Ukrainian members of the Dartmouth community, and we are grateful to our campus colleagues, who continue to be in contact with affected individuals to provide counseling and other important assistance. As evidenced by the community coming together on the Green last week, we are united in support of one another. If you need additional help, please do not hesitate to take advantage of any of the following resources: Dartmouth College Health Service Counseling Center, wellness services for employees and students, the Tucker Center for Spiritual and Ethical Life, the Office of Residential Life, the Financial Aid Office, the Office of Visa and Immigration Services, and the Faculty/Employee Assistance Program.


The Dartmouth Senior Leadership Group

Philip J. Hanlon, president

Alexis R. Abramson, dean, Thayer School of Engineering

Justin Anderson, vice president for communications

Scott C. Brown, interim dean of the College

Duane A. Compton, dean, Geisel School of Medicine

Shontay Delalue, senior vice president/senior diversity officer

Laura H. Hercod, chief of staff, Office of the President

Sandhya L. Iyer, general counsel

David F. Kotz, provost

F. Jon Kull, dean, Guarini School of Graduate and Advanced Studies

Robert W. Lasher, senior vice president for advancement

Richard G. Mills, executive vice president

Peter P. Roby, interim director of athletics and recreation

Alice A. Ruth, chief investment officer

Matthew J. Slaughter, dean, Tuck School of Business

Elizabeth F. Smith, dean, Faculty of Arts and Sciences