Statement on Mass Shooting in Uvalde, Texas

A statement from the Dartmouth Senior Leadership Group on the mass shooting in Uvalde, Texas.

On Tuesday morning, an armed teenager entered the Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas, and killed at least 19 children and two teachers. It is the deadliest school shooting since the 2012 Sandy Hook Elementary School massacre in Newtown, Conn. At the time, we wondered how we could possibly allow this type of gun violence to continue. Sadly, a decade later, almost nothing has been done to end this national emergency.

According to the Gun Violence Archive, there have already been 215 "mass shootings"—defined as an incident where four or more people were killed or injured—this year. As educators, students, parents, siblings, caregivers, and first responders, we are filled with overwhelming grief, outrage, and frustration.

Coming just days after the racist killings in Buffalo, N.Y., and Laguna Woods, Calif., and the murder of Anna Moriah Wilson '19 in Austin, Texas, these shootings amplify the unacceptable crisis of gun violence in our country.

It is not enough to offer our condolences and prayers to the families in mourning today. Inaction has turned what once was unthinkable into the routine. We call on our New Hampshire delegation, the U.S. Congress, and voters across America to turn their attention to addressing the need for common sense gun control legislation. Students of all ages have a right to feel safe in their schools, where their only concerns should be how best to explore, learn, and grow, and people have the right to return home from the grocery store alive.

When events like these occur, members of our community may feel the need to speak to someone about their feelings and experiences. If you need support, please take advantage of the following resources: Dartmouth College Health Service Counseling Center, wellness services for employees and students, the William Jewett Tucker Center, the Office of Residential Life, and the Faculty/Employee Assistance Program.



The Dartmouth Senior Leadership Group


Philip J. Hanlon, president

David F. Kotz, provost

Alexis R. Abramson, dean, Thayer School of Engineering

Justin Anderson, vice president for communications

Scott C. Brown, interim dean of the College

Duane A. Compton, dean, Geisel School of Medicine

Shontay Delalue, senior vice president/senior diversity officer

Laura H. Hercod, chief of staff, Office of the President

Sandhya L. Iyer, general counsel

Jon Kull, dean, Guarini School of Graduate and Advanced Studies

Robert W. Lasher, senior vice president for advancement

Richard G. Mills, executive vice president

Peter P. Roby, interim director of athletics and recreation

Alice A. Ruth, chief investment officer

Matthew J. Slaughter, dean, Tuck School of Business

Elizabeth F. Smith, dean, Faculty of Arts and Sciences