The McGuire Family Prize for Societal Impact

The McGuire Family Prize for Societal Impact recognizes and rewards Dartmouth community members who have contributed toward or are responsible for making a significant positive impact on humanity, society, or the environment.

Call for Nominations: February 6-27, 2023

About the McGuire Prize


Terry McGuire Th'82 P'08, Founding Partner of Polaris Partners and Thayer Board of Advisors member since 2000. (Photo by Aram Boghosian for The Boston Globe)

The Prize—established through the generosity of Terry McGuire Th'82 P'08 and his wife Carolyn Carr McGuire Tu'83 P'08—is awarded annually in the amount of $100,000.

Areas of impact for consideration include:

  • technological innovations
  • organizational creation
  • societal leadership
  • betterment of humanity
  • environmental stewardship
  • fundamental discovery



Carolyn Carr McGuire Tu'83 P'08, co-founder of Community Consulting Teams of Boston. (Photo by Laura DeCapua)

Recipients will be invited to visit Dartmouth and participate in classroom discussions, lectures and/or other activities that give students and/or the broader Dartmouth community an opportunity to learn about the recipient's human-centered impact on individuals, society, and the world.


The Prize may be awarded to any member of the Dartmouth community such as a student, faculty or staff member, alumnus, or friend of Dartmouth, and can be given posthumously.

"Among the true measures of success of an academic institution is its community's positive impact on society."—Terry McGuire

Nomination/ Selection Process

This year's call for nominations runs from February 6-27, 2023. 

The selection process, rules and criteria are at the discretion of the President, or his designee, and the Prize Selection Committee. Nominations must be submitted via the McGuire Prize Nominating Form.

2023 Prize Selection Committee

  • Thalia Wheatley (chair), Lincoln Filene Professor in Human Relations
  • Scott Brown D'78, Partner and Founder of New Energy Capital
  • Sydney FinkelsteinSteven Roth Professor of Management, Tuck School of Business
  • Lorie Loeb, Professor of Computer Science
  • Mathieu Morlighem, Evans Family Distinguished Professor of Earth Sciences
  • Sandra WongWilliam N. and Bessie Allyn Professor of Surgery, Geisel School of Medicine

2022 Prize Selection Committee

  • Eric Fossum (chair), John H. Krehbiel Sr. Professor for Emerging Technologies
  • Susannah Heschel, Eli M. Black Distinguished Professor of Jewish Studies
  • Bob Lasher '88, Senior Vice President for Advancement
  • Lorie Loeb, Professor of Computer Science
  • Dean Madden, Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
  • Kofi Odame, Associate Professor of Engineering
  • Andrew Samwick, Sandra L. and Arthur L. Irving '72a P'10 Professor of Economics




2022: The inaugural McGuire Family Prize for Societal Impact was presented to Jason McLellan, a structural biologist whose groundbreaking coronavirus research conducted at the Geisel School of Medicine laid the foundation for COVID-19 vaccines that have saved countless lives. McLellan, a former assistant professor at the Geisel School, is now the Robert A. Welch Chair in Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin. 

"The McGuire Family Prize recognizes those who are dedicated to making a difference. There could be no better example of what it means for a scientist to answer the call to lead. I hope every student on our campus today and everyone in our community are inspired by the example of Dr. McLellan."—President Philip J. Hanlon